«

»

Oct 07 2012

Move Users Shared Data and Users Redirected Documents to a different location

When you install Windows Small Business Server 2011 it will install the Users Shared Data folder and Users Redirected Documents to its default location. The default location is C:\Users\Shares and C:\Users\FolderRedirections. Most of the time you will have your Operating System split from your Data Storage drives and that will mean that you would want to move the Users Shared Data and Users Redirected Documents to the other Data Storage drives.

Here are the steps on how to move the Users Shared Data and Users Redirected Documents do a different location:

NOTE: Never try to move these folders manually. In SBS2011 always use the available Wizards to complete the tasks.

 

  1. Open the Windows SBS Console.
  2. Click on Backup and Server Storage tab and then click on Server Storage.
  3. In the tasks pane on the right hand side you will find the following options to start the Wizard to move the location of these folders – Move Users Shared Data and Move Users Redirected Documents Data.
  4. When the Wizard opens, follow the instructions and when it asks you for the new location, browse to where you want the folders to be moved and complete the Wizard.

Your Users Shared Data and Users Redirected Documents data will be moved safely to the new location.

Windows SBS Console Server Storage Window

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*